And what a horrible, horrible drive we had. The first hour or so, through Connecticut, was fine. But once we reached the Mass Pike in Sturbridge, we hit traffic. Basically, we were stuck in traffic from Sturbridge all the way to the Maine border. Thirty miles on the Mass Pike until we reached I-495, then all 63 miles on 495 until we reached I-95, then through most of the 15 to 20 miles or so through New Hampshire was ALL stop and go traffic. Once we got into Maine, we had about five miles of open highway until our exit, then actually did OK on Route 1 until we were about four miles from Ogunquit. Then we crawled again until we reached the campsite.
All in all, it took around 5 1/2 hours to drive 178 miles. Take away the first leg of the trip, through CT, it took around 4 1/2 hours to drive 127 miles. ALMOST ENTIRELY ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAYS. Yeah, that would be less than 30 mph, folks.
Needless to say, I was mentally exhausted when we arrived at the campground.
Our campsite is very nice, though, better than last year's at the same campground. We again are surrounded by Canadians. My best guess is that 90% of the campers here are from Quebec. This must be where they ALL go on vacation. I feel like we should have brought our passports.
After we set up our campsite, we had a light dinner of hot dogs and salad, then went to the pool for a little while. Back to the campsite for a fire, then a rousing family game of Scrabble before bed.
There's supposed to be wireless internet here, but I guess we have to go up by the office to get a signal. So this blog entry was written and sent from my Blackberry.
It's supposed to rain sometime this afternoon, so we'll see how that goes. We may go down to the beach this morning.
More to come later . . .
Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T
No comments:
Post a Comment